My Long Overdue Organic Epiphany

monsantotomato

Monsanto. Just the name of the company has been enough to enrage me over the last five years as I’ve read, watched, and heard countless reports and documentaries detailing the destruction that this evil corporation has brought to the natural world. I read about the financial ruin that Monsanto has put small and family farms in, I watched videos detailing the health impacts of the chemicals and genetic modification of our food supply, and I was disgusted by photos of rats with huge tumours caused by GMOs. Anger, disgust and outrage were apparently not enough to spur me to action however, until now. I have finally decided to go organic. I can no longer trick myself into believing the excuses that I would make up to not try organic foods sooner.

One of my biggest excuses has always been that organic food is too expensive. Well, organic food is a little bit more expensive than regular food. However, I have come to the realization that it is better to spend a little more money on food now than to spend a lot of money on health care and medications later! I also know that it is possible to save money on organic foods by shopping seasonably, watching sales, and by shopping in bulk.

My husband is also quite excited to start a little organic vegetable garden. We are apartment living right now, and will be trying our hand at container gardening! Hopefully, we will be able to grow our own tomatoes, bell peppers, cucumber, lettuce, broccoli, spinach, onions and herbs. Right now, we are still buried under a mountain of snow, but I have recently purchased an organic basil plant and it is quite enjoying my window sill. In a couple of weeks, we will germinate our seeds! Growing some of our own vegetables will help to offset our grocery bill, and nothing beats the taste of fresh from the garden food!

basilplant

Another big misconception that we held about organic food was that it doesn’t taste very good. We thought that organic produce would not be as fresh as conventional produce, or that it would somehow “taste weird”. Recently, we’ve been very frustrated with the taste and texture of the conventional bananas and tomatoes that we have been eating. They just don’t taste right, and the texture is all wrong! In light of this, we decided to purchase some organic tomatoes and bananas last week to see if there were any difference. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the tomatoes tasted like, well, tomatoes! They were not terribly watery and bland like the conventional ones we have been so disappointed in lately! Then we tried the bananas and were happy to find that they actually taste like bananas and do not have a strange pasty texture! Sure, we paid about twenty cents more per pound, but we are actually going to enjoy eating our bananas and tomatoes this week, and we won’t be eating any poisons or genetically modified organisms either! We were so impressed that we’ve committed to always buying organic produce when available!

organic-food

Okay, so we liked the produce, but could there exist organic sweeteners that actually satisfy, and don’t have strange textures or after tastes? We were sceptical, to say the least, but determined to find one. Sugar is one of my biggest vices, so I decided that if I am going to be eating so much of it, it had better be organic at least! I am a sugar snob. I only like a specific brand of sugar, and have in the past turned my nose up at natural replacements such as agave, honey or raw sugar. It was quite a step for me to take when I purchased a ten pound bag of organic sugar, but when I got home and made myself a cup of tea I was overjoyed to find the taste just exactly the same as my refined sugar.

sugar

Another thing that we just can’t live without eating is chips! We were sure that organic chips would be bland and that there would not be much selection. Believe it or not, we were wrong again!! Our local, big box grocery store had an entire aisle dedicated to organic snack foods! Last week, they were having a sale on Neil Brother’s brand organic potato chips so we picked up a couple of bags. Boy, were they good!! I highly recommend trying the Spirachup Spicy Ketchup, as well as the Himalayan Pink Salt flavours. We are definitely looking forward to continuing this organic chip experiment with new brands and flavours!

0719 found283.JPG

There are countless resources available online and elsewhere for information about organic foods, GMOs, and Monsanto. Like I already stated, it really did take me quite a lot of time and research before I finally understood how important the organic food movement is! Recently, I saw a great documentary that I highly recommend to anyone interested in food, health, and wellness!

Check it out at the link below:

http://www.boughtmovie.net/free-viewing/

bought-film-image-1003141

Ever since I was a little girl, I have always been a very inquisitive and observant person. I have also always felt as though there is something "not quite right" about the world. Prior to acquiring some basic information about the issues affecting our reality, natural law, the real definition of obfuscated words, and many other topics, I lived in a state of complete fear. My whole reality was consumed with one fear or another, and it began to cause me more and more suffering in my personal life. After developing an understanding of the above mentioned topics however, I am no longer stuck in the fear paradigm imposed on most of society. Thankfully, being curious about many things has spurred a tendency in me to research countless topics. In my quest for knowledge and truth, I have come to certain understandings about the world that we live in, the laws and constraints that we are (often unwittingly) subjected to in order that the system that we currently inhabit continues. Here, I will be posting my observations, exposing wrongdoings going on in our community and around the world, and suggesting some solutions required to alter the reality that we presently experience. I hope that anyone visiting this page will at least come away with some useful knowledge that can be directly applied to their life, and at best, share the information with others.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Articles
2 comments on “My Long Overdue Organic Epiphany
  1. […] via My Long Overdue Organic Epiphany | infopage4disinfoage. […]

    Like

  2. […] husband and I decided to make the commitment to go organic. As I’ve already explained in my previous post, it has been a long time coming! We are so excited to make this change!! After having done copious […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Categories
Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

