My Natural Cold Remedy Experiment

sick

A few weeks ago, I came down with a cold. I had severe sinus and chest congestion, along with a wet cough. At the onset of my illness, I did what I usually do, I went   out and spent about $40.00 on over the counter medications to cover up my symptoms. I took a multi symptom cold tablet and was awake all night! I felt drugged and rather sick to my stomach, though I will admit that it dulled my headache somewhat. The cold tablet, while relieving my headache a little, did not really address the other symptoms, and ultimately made me feel worse. I decided that I would check online for some natural remedies. It turns out that there are many herbs (easily purchased at the grocery store, or grown at home) that can be used medicinally. The best part is that unlike over the counter medication, they don’t taste horrible, have no questionable ingredients in them, and cause no adverse side effects! I made two different teas, one for my chest congestion, and one for my sinus congestion. I drank each tea 2-3 times per day, for about 6 days, which is generally the same amount of time that I would have to resort to taking over the counter medications. The difference was that I only spent about $20.00, and my remedies did not make me feel sick, drugged, or unable to sleep. The tea was soothing to my sore throat, cleared my congestion just as well as medication, and provided me with needed hydration.   This little experiment has sealed the deal for me, in the future, my remedy of choice for colds will definitely be herbal tea! 

Citrus Basil Herbal Tea (For Nasal Congestion)

 1907928_10155050193800285_8291072838631880902_n

Steep the following ingredients in hot water for five minutes. If you prefer a sweet tea, add honey or agave (vegan) to taste. Regular sugar should be avoided, as it will further irritate the throat. Enjoy, relax, and feel better!

1 lemon wedge

1 lime wedge

3-4 thin slices of orange

6 fresh basil leaves

3 sprigs of fresh cilantro

*If you do not like basil, substitute with mint.*

(I prefer to just use the lemon and lime juice, because when I left it in the water it was too bitter. My husband did not notice a difference though and keeps his lemons/limes in.)

 

Citrus Thyme Tea (For Chest Congestion)

 unnamed

Steep the following ingredients in hot water for five minutes. . If you prefer a sweet tea, add honey or agave (vegan) to taste. Regular sugar should be avoided, as it will further irritate the throat. Enjoy, relax, and feel better!

1 lemon wedge

2 lime wedges

3-4 thin slices of orange

4 sprigs of fresh thyme

*If you do not like thyme, substitute with sage.*

(I prefer to just use the lemon and lime juice, because when I left it in the water it was too bitter. My husband did not notice a difference though and keeps his lemons/limes in.)

Ever since I was a little girl, I have always been a very inquisitive and observant person. I have also always felt as though there is something "not quite right" about the world. Prior to acquiring some basic information about the issues affecting our reality, natural law, the real definition of obfuscated words, and many other topics, I lived in a state of complete fear. My whole reality was consumed with one fear or another, and it began to cause me more and more suffering in my personal life. After developing an understanding of the above mentioned topics however, I am no longer stuck in the fear paradigm imposed on most of society. Thankfully, being curious about many things has spurred a tendency in me to research countless topics. In my quest for knowledge and truth, I have come to certain understandings about the world that we live in, the laws and constraints that we are (often unwittingly) subjected to in order that the system that we currently inhabit continues. Here, I will be posting my observations, exposing wrongdoings going on in our community and around the world, and suggesting some solutions required to alter the reality that we presently experience. I hope that anyone visiting this page will at least come away with some useful knowledge that can be directly applied to their life, and at best, share the information with others.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Articles
One comment on “My Natural Cold Remedy Experiment
  1. […] a full understanding of the incredibly harmful effects that conventional foods are having on our health, we’ve decided that the small amount of extra effort to eat organic will be well worth it in […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Categories
Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

